BodyGuruBlog

Health, Wellness, and My "Multi-Life"

Shut Up and Quiche Me

on November 17, 2013
photo of tofu quiche
Yes! It’s Tofu!

You know how you go through those phases when you just don’t feel like cooking? Well lately I’ve been feeling much the opposite. For quite some time, I’ve been planning to try my hand at tofu quiche. I love making quiches, so in previous autumns, Sundays have found the house smelling of quiche, roasted potatoes, and homemade soup. Because I had never tried my hand at quiche-baking sans egg, I immediately turned to the goddess of all things vegan: Angela Liddon and her gorgeous blog: Oh She Glows. Sure enough, Angela had a recipe for a Sun-Dried Tomato, Mushroom, and Spinach Tofu Quiche.

For the crust, I went simple and bought a frozen pie crust at my local grocery store. Although many people prebake their crusts blind before filling, I have found that this often results in a burnt crust. I went with Angela’s basic recipe, but I used whatever I had on hand.

  1. Take a pie crust out of the freezer and preheat the oven to 375 degrees
  2. In a non-stick skillet sprayed very lightly with cooling oil (I have been using coconut oil), saute an entire bag of baby spinach with 1 thinly sliced garlic clove, as soon as the spinach wilts, place it in a bowl
  3. Cut 14 oz organic firm or extra firm tofu into large cubes and mix in a food processor with 2 tbls nutritional yeast and 2 tbls non-dairy milk (I used cashew milk) until creamy
  4. Pour the custard into the bowl containing the wilted spinach and mix, stirring in about a handful of sliced sun-dried tomatoes
  5. Add salt and black pepper to taste – at this point, I decided to throw in some pitted kalamata olives, quartered
  6. Pour the custard into the pie pan, garnish, and place in oven
  7. The quiche should be set and browning after about 35 minutes
Quiche with Thyme and Black Pepper Roasted Potatoes
Quiche with Thyme and Black Pepper Roasted Potatoes

Admittedly, I thought the quiche left something to be desired. It wasn’t bad, it just wasn’t great. In particular, I felt that the nutritional yeast overpowered the other elements. In the future, I am going to cut the yeast by at least half and try adding a bit of dijon mustard, miso, and tahini to the custard.

FYI: for the traditional version, an old friend from Paris taught me the easiest quiche base ever: 1 cup sour cream (low- or non-fat work just as well), 4 eggs, and 4-5 oz shredded cheese, plus milk to thin (if needed) and salt to taste. For the cheese I recommend using 2 parts something mild and creamy like a basic swiss or fontina and 1 part something with real flavor like gruyère or campo de montalban. Start the quiche at 425 degrees, after 20-25 minutes, drop the heat to 350 degrees and bake for 20 more minutes or until the custard is puffy and set.

2 responses to “Shut Up and Quiche Me

  1. […] Shut Up and Quiche Me (bodygurublog.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] Shut Up and Quiche Me (bodygurublog.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

