BodyGuruBlog

Health, Wellness, and My "Multi-Life"

More Veggie Love!

on November 13, 2013

Last week I posted my minute-by-minute, post-gym shower and dinner timetable. That resulted in a deeply satisfying Sunday dinner of roasted autumn vegetables with quinoa. Today I thought I’d show how I used the remaining vegetables from that week’s share.

The share contents: cabbage, sweet potatoes, kale, arugula, carrots, turnips, and apples. I seem to recall eating the entire bag of arugula before my boyfriend even noticed we had it. We enjoyed the apples immensely–plain or (one of my favorite snacks) in slices with smears of almond butter, a drizzle of raw honey, and a sprinkling of cinnamon.

photo of farm share

Large box from a local CSA (we get a half share)

We tore through everything I cooked Sunday night in two days. After a night (or was it two?) of noodle-bowling it, I decided it was high time to get to work on the rest of the share. The lingering scent of cumin in my clothes reminded me of the Caribbean food stands that appear in my neighborhood during Odunde Festival. Duly inspired, I set my sights on curry and cabbage.  Not one to shy away from heat, chili-spiced sweet potato wedges struck me as the perfect complement. I rounded out that meal with more quinoa, a generous dollop of guacamole (Trader Joe’s), and some amazing “I can’t believe it’s not seafood” vegan crabcakes that my local Whole Foods sells for $1.99 a piece.

photo of the finished plate

An explosion of colors and flavors!

Curry Sauteed Cabbage:

  • half a large head of cabbage, shredded
  • 1-2 carrots, shredded or matchsticked
  • 1-2 scallions, sliced thin diagonally
  • 1/4-1/2 tsp curry powder
  • 1/2 tsp cumin seeds
  • optional – 1/4-1/2 tsp worchestershire sauce

Spray a non-stick skillet cooking spray (I like coconut oil) or pour in about a tablespoon of olive oil on it and heat over medium heat. Toss in the cumin seeds and stir until they turn fragrant. Add the vegetables to the skillet and begin stir-frying. One everything looks integrated, sprinkle with curry powder and worcestershire sauce, and stir again. Cover the skillet and drop the heat to low. After a few minutes, stir and taste. At this point, if you prefer more tender vegetables, you can cover again; if you like crisper vegetables, season to taste with salt and serve.

2 responses to “More Veggie Love!

  1. […] More Veggie Love! (bodygurublog.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Jacqui says:

    Love your idea to use Indian spices in a noodle stir fry!

Leave a Reply

