BodyGuruBlog

Health, Wellness, and My "Multi-Life"

Where have I been?

on June 24, 2013

Funny how I can jet off to Chicago for a weekend and still have time to write 3 posts, but give me a week to spend at home, and all you get is internet silence. What have I been doing with my time? I’ve actually been working on a longer post about my recent pixel laser treatment.

The short version: I got a pixel laser done on my face on Thursday June 13. The pixel laser is far more aggressive than glycolic peels and microdermabrasion. It basically “nukes” your skin cells in a pinpoint pattern, forcing them to regenerate. Even though the pixel laser only blasts 20-25% of the skin’s surface, you probably would not want to be out and about for 3-5 days post-pixel (unless you happen to be the kind of person who doesn’t mind stares). Honestly, it looked as though I had run face-first into a burning screen door. Since I can be shameless when I believe I am helping people, I taught all my regular fitness classes – first with a red face (like nightmare sunburn) then, as it started to heal, with flakey patches of brownish and burlap-textured, dead (fried!) skin. Not surprisingly, a few participants told me that they might want more information, but only after they could assess the final results.

Before going “under the laser,” I managed to squeeze in a night out with my boyfriend to celebrate our 31 month and one day anniversary (and people call me “un-romantic!”). If you look at a photo he shot, you will notice that my face changes color to the left of and below my cheek. Behold the ravages of time, genetics, and tropical excursions!

NOTE: suspecting he would shoot a few photos, I slathered on the BB cream. What you see here is an un-retouched photo with makeup.

js drinkie_576x768

You can expect a longer and more detailed post (with gruesome photos!) about my pixel at a later date. In fact, I’m making a whole separate category called TMI for posts like that.

Also in the works are posts (with recipes) about our weekly CSA. What is a CSA? Enrolling in a CSA (community supported agriculture) basically amounts to investing in a “farm share.” You pay up front for a regular “share” of the harvest, guaranteeing a market for the farm and a regular supply of fresh produce for yourself. CSAs are also a sly way to rack up some karma points since you will: 1. support local farms, 2. eat cleaner and greener. So what if you don’t believe in karma? Joining a CSA will probably force more nutrition and variety into your diet. Here’s how ours works. Every week we pick up a bunch of locally grown, organic produce at our farmers market. But there’s a catch – although we know the produce will be seasonal, we never quite know what we will be getting until we pick it up. In that way, a CSA can be a little like a weekly Iron Chef challenge. And who doesn’t enjoy a fun challenge when the prize is a healthy and delicious meal? This week we received broccoli, green beans, tomatoes, garlic scapes, blueberries (our share always includes one fruit item), a huge cucumber, a little bag of spring mix, and fresh sage. Since we have some potatoes leftover from a previous share I’m looking forward to Salad Niçoise … and then maybe pasta with broccoli and garlic-scape pesto for a quick mid-week dinner. Once in a while you might find something mysterious (like garlic scapes) included in the share.  Luckily, the man who hands over the produce will identify unusual items such as sorrel or mizuna and even offer cooking ideas.

Anyway, I’m quite green at this blogging business, so my writing and posting probably seems a bit irregular. But in the immortal words of Shri Patthabhi Jois, “Practice and all is coming,” which is my way of saying,  “Thanks for your patience – more posts soon.”

3 responses to “Where have I been?

  1. kris says:

    Yowch! And I was telling Tim how young you looked when I saw you in the fall. How much did this burning screen door treatment cost? Does insurance cover any of it?

  2. Jacqui says:

    The cost varies widely. People I know personally have paid between $300-800. And no, no insurance coverage. Re looking young – my lack of wrinkles is genetic, just like the discoloration. But ask around before you get it done – and if your new university has a dept of dermatology, ask there.

  3. In the words of glitter illuminati princess of our day, Britney Spears: “Gimme gimme mohr!” Adam will definitely want to see the laser treatment photos! (Me too, but in a sick and fascinated way). Do you get any input into what is grown on your farm?

Leave a Reply

